FAQ's FOR CELLPHONE SERVICE IN CANCUN

Discussion in 'Cancun Info' started by johnc, Dec 13, 2005.

  1. Beverly

    Beverly 2nd day member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Youngstown, Oh
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    We have cellular one and they told me that if we could get a signal we could use our phones at $3.80 per minute. So I rented one from vic from there. Used it once before and once we figured out where we could use them at, had no problems.
     
  2. SUZLEW

    SUZLEW Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I was reading all the past conversations, but no one mentioned Verizon service in Mexico does that work? Please let me know
    Thanks
    Leaving in 6 days
    Can't wait
     
  3. sunnydays

    sunnydays Newbie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have Verizon and have heard it works and it doesn't work so I will just try it out. Give them a call and see what they say. I called and was told it would be .69 a minute but then someone else said more. I just wanted it to check in with neighbors about our dog while we are gone.

    Leave in 4 days. :p
     
  4. spradioman

    spradioman Enthusiast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    one particular harbour
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My cell service is Verizon. Contacted my local rep today to ask what to do. He set me up on international calling plan for $20 for the month. My phone plan is structured the same within my national calling area...otherwise I would pay a roaming fee of .69 per minute. Cancun is considered part of my national calling plan. He pulled up a map and showed me. So for what I can tell I'll have my standard minutes with free evenings and weekends while in Cancun. When I get back then I will just cancel....or as he put it restructure. Said two towers in Cancun...so not sure about reception. Also the literature he gave me seems to support this. :D :D
     
  5. DConCT

    DConCT CC's SB Godfather Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    connecticut, usa
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Not sure if I posted this before, but it won't hurt...

    I have Cingular. The Cingular website said that I needed to have the International Service activated. The next day I stopped by my Cingular store and they gave me the International service number. I called and told the woman that I wanted to use my phone in Mexico, she put me on hold for a minute or so, and then said it was all done. You can either pay a monthly fee plus a per minute charge for Int'l calls, or pay by the minute. My calls were US$0.49/minute.

    Upon arriving in Cancun I wanted to call home to let people know I arrived safely. All I needed to do was put a plus sign (+) in front of the phone number (ex. +12223334444) and it worked perfectly, clear as day.

    I did this for the 5-10 phone numbers in my phone book that I used. I changed it back when I returned to the U.S.
     
  6. laydeedubbduce

    laydeedubbduce Enthusiast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, California
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    For Verizon users... I found this on a condo rental and hope its true because it will help me lots!

    • Verizon wireless is now in Cancun. Switch your Verizon cell phone service to the "North America" plan for the time you visit here and you can call home at no additional charge. Simply dial 001-Area Code-Number to complete your call. Can you hear me now? Check with your cell phone provider PRIOR to arriving in Cancun.
     
  7. NickyD

    NickyD I can choose my own title Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I second the Cancunvalet rental. EXCELLENT service, no dropped calls, and not too expensive as long as you dont abuse it :wink: Done that twice when in cancun already and plan to do again for 07
     
  8. ejeezy

    ejeezy Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    text messaging

    does text messaging work in cancun if youre a sprint customer?
     
  9. CancunRedheadgirl

    CancunRedheadgirl Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    text message with Sprint

    Not sure if texting works, but I can confirm that Sprint works there.. I loved sitting on the beach talking to my loved ones at home.. RUBBING IT IN!!!

    I had great connections every time and never once dropped a call.. I just got back this past Sunday night... :(

    So check with Sprint about text emssaging,, but make sure you add International Roaming to your plan so you can use your phone to call our while you are there.. it takes about 72 hours to add it....
     
  10. Takami826

    Takami826 Enthusiast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    T-Mobile...

    I activated world class roaming since it didn't cost me anything to do so. About 2 days in I finally could obtain a signal, GSM MEXICO or something like that (I forget) but even with the 00-1 code, I could dial out but then the calls would simply terminate. So, down there, I got a signal but couldn't do much with it.

    I just bought the over priced phone cards with the Tucan on them, in the end probably cheaper than using the cell anyway